The 4% Challenge

#ThePowerOfSocial, my friends 🙂 #wcsf

A post shared by Meagan Hanes (@mhanes) on

If you haven’t heard by now, WordPress is growing! As it stands, over 18% of the Internet’s popular websites use WordPress to achieve their dreams, and that number continues to grow each year.

What great news, right? Well, yes, and no. Allow me to explain 🙂

WordPress is Inspiring Dreamers

Yes – just like a blank canvas, WordPress is being leveraged more and in very unique ways to achieve a wide range of business and personal pursuits. The results are nothing short of fantastic and inspirational! Whether you speak gourmet food, intellectual thoughts, penguin pictures, or anywhere in between, there are now hundreds of other people having discussions tailored just for you.

But Only 4% Of Them?

So where’s the No? It’s a simple one… 4%. Just Four Percent. This is the percent of people who continue to write in their blog after the first week. The ones who continue to find the passion, motivation, and time to write.

In other words, each and every week, 96% of people who create a blog, abandon it.

Unbelievable, right? Oh, it pained me to write those words, but they’re true. You can hear the numbers being presented directly at State of the Word 2013.

#wordpress State of the Word 2013 #wcsf

A post shared by Tracy Levesque (@liljimmi) on

Meagan Muses – “Why?”

The curious part of me can’t help but wonder why this is. Why don’t more people continue to blog? I began to think and muse…

  • Is it because the tool is not being taught or learned effectively? (We do have different learning styles, after all.)
  • Is it because people don’t have much to blog about? (Maybe a bit of inspiration is all they need?)
  • Is it due to not finding the time in one’s busy day? (Life is certainly not simple at times. Let’s explore ways to make blogging more easy! Or maybe make more time?)

As always, it’s likely a mix of these and the many other unknown factors we have yet to discover. At least I now have three starting points!

Finding the answer to this problem solves a fundamental problem in my business but also in life. I’ve spent most of my life on the web and continue to discover the value in its ability to connect us; however translating that to individuals and small businesses continues to be a challenge, no matter how friendly the technology becomes. Previously it seemed to be a technological impediment issue, but now it seems to be moving more to one of mentality & motivation

Even more candidly – despite being an avid content creator, I’m not the most regular blogger in the world. Finding out what makes us want to blog more will naturally encourage my own blogging, something I’ve been missing this past year.

Let’s Try Something!

So, I’m setting out to try and find some kind of answer. I’m very encouraged to hear that I’m not alone in my desire to better understand how to share the value of WordPress and the power of communication.

My Plan…

My plan? Here it is… in haiku form:

Summer’s Friendly Breeze

Multiplies inspiration

Summer all around?

I look forward to continuing to share inspiration and resources I find along the way!

Most of all though, I whole-heartedly encourage you to get involved. Ideally, write your own blog post about why blogging is a challenge for you, and link it here! But we don’t all have time for that, so another option is to leave feedback on any post, a like or your thoughts and experiences in blogging, using WordPress, running your website, staying motivated and inspired, or any other digital communication topic. Or have a chat with me in person, Tweet me, make a fun art and tag me on Instagram, just share your story somehow! I believe strongly that everyone’s experience is unique and valuable, and I want to hear yours. 

A big Thanks to those who’ve already commented, offered feedback and insight, and will continue to do so throughout the coming year 🙂

Leave a Reply

